Patient Care


Introduction of the Department of Pathology

The Department of Pathology (DOP) was established in 1964 with the creation of the Tumor Hospital of Sun Yat-Sen University (Medical Sciences) and is a recognized leading department in the field of pathological diagnosis in Southern China. Additionally, the first endowed director at the Institute of Cancer Research of Sun Yat-Sen University was Professor Bo-Qiang Liang, a remarkable pathologist whose influence on the Cancer Center and Chinese pathology remains unsurpassed. The range of the department’s activities has expanded considerably since its founding and is now composed of diverse academic divisions which serve to accomplish a three-fold mission to achieve excellence in Clinical Services, Research, and Education.


Diagnosis and laboratory techniques

The DOP offers a complete range of laboratory testing services in anatomic pathology, clinical pathology, and molecular diagnostics (H&E and Special Stainings, Cytopathology, Immunohistochemistry, Immunofluorescence, Cytogenetics). DOP receives more than 32940 biopsies, 4242 frozen section specimens and 12487 cytological specimens for diagnosis per year. The molecular pathological laboratory performs over 1,570 different tests and assays, all of which have immediate impact on the clinical management of the cancer patient. The primary diagnostic commitment includes nasopharyngeal carcinoma, lung cancer, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, colorectal cancer, liver cancer, head and neck cancer, gynecologic cancer and lymphoma. 

Facilities and apparatus
The department has a series of advanced equipments including: SHANDON automated dehydration machine, automated staining machine, microscope graph analysis system, PCR system, LEICA frozen slicing machine, FISH & CGH Workstation, Tissue Microarray, LEICA System for Immunohistochemistry, etc.

Currently, there are over 64 staffs (including 35 doctors and 29 technicians) in the department which includes 9 senior specialists (4 professors, 5 associate professors) and 2 doctoral supervisors.
Jing-ping Yun, M.D., Ph. D
Professor and Chairman, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty Groups: Hepatobiliary Pathology, Genitourinary Pathology
Hui-zhong Zhang, M.D., Ph. D
Associate Professor and Vice Chairman, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty Groups: GI Pathology, Osteoarticular Pathology, and Dermatopathology
Hui-lan Rao, M.D.
Associate Professor and Vice Chairman, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty: Soft-tissue and bone Pathology, Dermatopathology
Qiu-liang Wu, M.D.
Professor, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty Groups: Head and Neck Pathology, Thoracic Pathology, Lymphoma Pathology, Neuropathology
Jie-hua He, M.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty: Breast Pathology, Gynecologic Pathology and Cytopathology
Su-xia Lin, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty: Lymphoma Pathology, Lung Pathology
Jing Zeng, M.D., Ph. D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
Subspecialty: Neuropathology, Endocrine Pathology

Last UpdateFebruary 2015

Where are we | Contact us|

Copyright:Sun Yat-sen University Cancer Center Designed by Wanhu.